10 year retrospective

10 May

 

Well today, of all days I thought it was time to write again here!

 

In the last few days I’ve been exposed to the otherworldly extravagance of Diamanda Galas and also made contact with people I haven’t talked to in more than a decade.

 

Talking to people you haven’t heard from in such a long time can be so awkward. You never know where to start catching up…especially when the other party is thousand of miles away it gets even trickier. At the back of one’s head you wonder why the heck you lost contact in the first place? Whatever the reason for the loss of contact is very difficult after a decade to try to relate to what those people have evolved to be nowadays. It is all so confusing!

 

Those people have been lost in our thoughts at the back of our head and they always remain the same age to me. Talking to someone you knew was about 12 and now is fresh out of university is terribly confusing. It sounds really silly but it is true for me, the people I carry in my head are never aging. The old people remain old the younger people remain young. I suppose that is down to our brain never catching up with the daily passing of time. I have changed a huge amount from the moment I moved to London in 1997 and turned from a scared kid of 18 1/2 years to a more confident man of 29 year old with a definite sense of belonging.

 

What I left behind never mattered greatly, as my new life was the main impetus from leaving my claustrophobic Athenian life. My memories of Athens have crystallized in my head to what it looked like 5 years before the Olympics. If I went back now I wouldn’t possibly recognise most of it! London has changed a huge amount around me too, in the last decade. The Dome wasn’t there, the ‘Gherkin’ wasn’t there, the Jubilee Line extension wasn’t there, my Art School used to be at Greengate House in grimy Plaistow. With all this change though and seeing it around me I gained a sense of belonging in ‘London town’. We are growing up together.

Well today and with the fact Tony Blair is quitting my first decade has come full circle. When I arrived in late August 1997 New Labour was indeed newly elected and full of promise, a bit like my outlook for my new London life.

 

Bring on the next decade!

