Just leaving York on my way back from Edinburgh…a bit of a mess with people trying to find their seats amongst the mayhem!

12 Aug
Edinburgh was lovely,went to Gauguin’s Vision at The National Gallery,Bacon-portraits and Cartier-Bresson at The National Gallery of Modern Art. All three shows were interesting, but the one that captivated my attention was Bacon. A large accumulation of his work, always has a curious effect on me. The experience is one of amazement,involvement,surprise,familiarity,respect,seduction. Seeing the fantastic full length portrait of Isabel Rawsthorne from Berlin had me quaking in my boots. The beauty of the colours and the handling were devastating. I could look at it for days and still find more excitement in it. More soon xx George
